Wednesday Update

Tonight my friend from work, Carolina, and I ran the lower loop in Central Park three times!!! That’s 5.1 miles! We planned on only running the loop twice and going for four miles but we pushed each other and kept on going.

It’s great to have people to run with. They really push you beyond the limits you thought you had. Both Carolina, my running buddy from work and Kristen my Portland Marathon training buddy who lives in Nashville have helped me stay motivated. Sometimes they lean on me for motivation and support and other times I return the favor and ask for their help and motivation. It’s a win- win.

Tomorrow I plan to run four miles at the gym and then do my long run on Saturday. Four loops around the lower loop!  Which is….. 6.8 miles! Today I bought the GU/ Gel stuff that you’re suppose to drink during a long run. Supposedly it gives you a boost of energy. The guy said the Vanilla flavor is good, so I got that one… Hopefully he’s right and I don’t end up gagging while running. That would be a sight to see.

I’ll let you know how it goes and if survived.

3 Comments

Filed under Training

3 responses to “Wednesday Update

  1. DAD

    What? No chocolate flavored?

    • Dad-
      They do make a chocolate flavor!!! I’ll try that one next and let you know 🙂 This gel stuff would probably be great for you and your swimming routine. It’s for exercise lasting 40 mins or more.

  2. Kristen

    I got that same Vanilla Gu gel in my Christmas stocking. I haven’t tried it yet. Let me know how you like it!

Leave a Reply

