April 2nd, 2011

Last night I signed up for the New York 13.1 Half Marathon. Three of my friends are running it so I think it’ll be a fun time. I created a training schedule and it looks like I’ll be okay.

I’m kind of excited to see how it goes. With the schedule I devised, I need  to run 6 miles on Saturday. I know I posted a schedule for this week but things change. It’s good to have a plan but you also need to know how to be flexible.

So tonight I’ll run, take Friday off and then Saturday run 6 miles. Maybe I’ll finally test out that Gel GU stuff.

2 Comments

Filed under Happy, Races, Training

2 responses to “April 2nd, 2011

  1. Carolina

    Yeah… we better get craking with this training… i am so freaking exited! We should train really hard and maybe we can be among of the first ones to finish! 🙂

  2. cathy goddard

    Remember the tortoise and the hare – go for stamina, not speed. What is the GEL stuff? Something for your feet? The training class I took for my marathons (back in the old days – 1996) had us smother our feet in good old vaseline, then put our socks on. (Plus I had baby-soft feet all those months!!) I NEVER had a blister – either from training or the actual marathons. They also told us to buy our shoes either a half or full size bigger than our normal shoes – your feet swell. Worked like a charm! I didn’t break any speed records but I finished both marathons. I’m so excited for you! Keep up the good work!!

Leave a Reply

