I Climbed to the Top!

Oh my gosh today was such a great day!!!

Ryan and I woke up nice and early, 5:50am, so Ms. Time Bomb, (ME) would be at the race on time. Our wave up the stairs was at 7:30am so my packet said to be at Rockefeller Center at 7am.

Here you can see that I was getting very nervous when the subway train wasn’t coming… I didn’t want to miss the race!!!

The train finally came, notice my happy face and we were right on time and were able to hangout, I ate a snack and stretched until my other team members arrived.

I was really nervous when we lined up and about to start up the 66 flights of stairs. We were allowed in the stairwell one at a time, so our bib timers would activate.

I was the first one out of my group of friends and just went for it. I never stopped and never looked back. At the first rest stop I grabbed a water bottle from one of the volunteers and kept climbing. My goal was to never stop.

MISSION COMPLETED!

I would have to say that the air in the stairwells were what made the climb more difficult. I guess you could say the air was dry? I don’t really know, but I did get a side ach half way through that stayed with me until I finished the race.

I finished in 15 minutes and 12 seconds!!!! I still can’t believe it!!! Ryan and our friend Marc said that when they saw me come out at the finish they were so surprised and had to do a double take. They couldn’t believe that I was already done! That’s why they didn’t get a picture of me at the finish line… sad. But they did snap some awesome photos when I ran up to them! I love my face!

View from the top!

I work over there. Off to the left, my building is hidden.

Team photo!

Hooray! We did it!!!

Me and Ryan. He was great.

He carried all my stuff in a backpack and when I finished the race he was there with a Vitamin water in hand! He wins my #1 Fan Award! And so do my parents! They live in Oregon, it’s three hours earlier there,  my Dad said he woke up at 4:45am their time and sent good thoughts my way in New York. Love them!!!

Ryan also bought me a cupcake from Magnolia Bakery! IT WAS SO GOOD! Freshly baked!

 

And again, thank you to everyone who donated money!!! You wall be receiving a little something in the mail very soon 🙂

 


Ohhhh… and later on we went to a Boston Terrier Meetup! 60 Boston Terriers in one room. Fun and chaos ensued. Bailey the puppy had a wonderful time!

 

I’m so tired and I can’t believe the weekend is over! It went by so fast but was so great!!!

I hope you all had a fantastic weekend too!

3 Comments

Filed under 5am, BF, Cross-Training, Cupcakes, Friends, Happy, Life, Puppy, Races

3 responses to “I Climbed to the Top!

  1. Sarah

    wow 15 minutes catie?! That’s AMAZING! Great job, I’m so proud of you!!!

  2. cathy goddard

    I knew you could do it!! 15 minutes – WOW!!! I’m so proud of you!!
    (You always WOULD do anything for a cupcake!!)

Leave a Reply

