NYC Half Marathon.

Sunday was a long day.

I woke up at 4:45am and was at the New York Road Runners Headquarters by 5:30am. I signed in, got my stylish orange volunteer vest and was ready to go.

By 6:30 us, Start Marshals were checking bib numbers and making sure all runners had a wrist band. I was stationed at the first entrance. This was for runners with bib numbers 1 – 3,999… Tons of people who had bib numbers higher than 3,999 kept trying to come in the entrance and we had to be tough. Many people were rude and mean. At this point I’m thinking in my head, “Aren’t runners suppose to be nice, all those endorphins??” I guess not at 6:30 in the morning.

After the race started our job was to cheer on the runners. I’m not kidding. We stood there for a long time. The elite runners ran by… Then the masses.

After our cheering ended it was time to clean up and move and barricades (those things are heavy!).

We were done by 10am. All in all it was a good morning, exciting and I met some nice people.

Some really famous runners were at the race too which was a plus and it was fun to watch them fly by and cheer for them. A bunch of Nike runners from Oregon were there so I was happy to see a little piece of home in New York.

Photos found on http://www.nyrr.org

Once I got back to Ryan’s apartment I crashed. I slept until he got back from New Jersey. We ate lunch and then went for a run. It was a beautiful day and we ran by the water. It was a nice, easy 2 mile run. A perfect recovery run after my 12 miler.

This weekend flew by and was filled with running. I’m happy my body is handling the training so well.

Up Next: Las Vegas this Friday!!!!

 

6 Comments

Filed under 5am, BF, Central Park, Life, Races, Training, Travel, Volunteering

6 responses to “NYC Half Marathon.

  1. Ryan

    Maybe one day you’ll be a Nike runner in Oregon ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. What a great event!! Way to be hard core in station 1 ๐Ÿ™‚ I bet it was ultra inspiring to see the Nike runners.

    Vegas next??? What are you doing?!!

  3. Pingback: I Don’t Know if you Knew This… | Running Adventures

Leave a Reply

