Scotland Run 10K Race Report

Doesn’t the title of this post sound official?!

Plan for the day: Wear pink running jacket so I attract photographers attention and get a great race photo.

Pace goal: 9 minutes! I’m ready! Hills, what hills!?

After catching the 7am train into Grand Central I arrived at Central Park about 40 minutes early. I was able to walk around, relax and stretch. Oh, and people watch! One of my favorite things!

Though it was cloudy, the temperate was perfect and it never rained!

Scottish bagpipes lead the way to the corrals and there I warmed up and stretched some more until the race began.

The race started on time (9am) and the 10,000 plus runners were out the start and running! In the beginning I felt a little tired and said to myself, “Do you really want to do this?” … After a mile or so I got into the groove and was good to go. All along the race there were bagpipe players and people cheering us on which definitely helped keep me motivated.

source: http://www.nyrr.com

The hills were tough but I just powered through. It was a little strange running 6 miles. I think my body was thinking it was going to run another 13. I was kind of surprised to hit the 4 mile mark and realize I only 2 miles left! It was a great feeling.

I finished the race faster than I started it which is always one of my goals. My time was 52:17, pace 8:25! I left my 9 minute goal pace in the dust!

After the race there was a Scottish party at the finish line. Scottish bands, dancers, food (really good bagels) and drink and a raffle to win a trip to Scotland! AND I WON! no… I didn’t… But I really wanted to win! It was so fun!

Another plus: All the runners got a goodie bag full of Scottish pride stuff. I thought the bag was great and will wear it proudly showing off my Scottish heritage πŸ™‚

 

I loved this race and plan on running it again next year. So much fun and a great hill workout!

 

PS – I didn’t get a great running photo… I thought my pink would stand out but all the kilts beat me out! Now I know for next year’s race! This guy really got into the theme!!!

Below are two photos from the New York Road Runners website. These are the only photos I made it into.

These are taken at the party after the race.


6 Comments

Filed under Central Park, Happy, Motivation, Pace, Race photo, Races

6 responses to “Scotland Run 10K Race Report

  1. Carolina

    Great Pics Catie! Where was Chuck? Good timing too! There were a lot of NYAC runners! And 10,000 people! Wow, that’s a lot of people… lol… keep it up! : )

  2. What a fun race Catie!! Did you do the “Scottish Jig” too?! πŸ˜‰ Love these pics!

    I think pick is a gorg color on you and if I were the photogrpher, I’d be snapping your pic!!!

    8:25 pace is killer! WAY TO GO!!!!!!

  3. Congratulations on your time–that’s so much faster than you thought!
    I love that you found yourself in the crowded photos πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, I had no idea how I was going to handle the hills!! I was very happy to look down at my garmin throughout the race and see a faster pace then I thought.
      My goal is to be photographed at one of these races! At least I made it into a crowd shot! haha

Leave a Reply

