Tomato Face

Yesterday was my 8 miler.

It was sunny, and I think it got up to 80 degrees! However, running in warm weather is pretty difficult. I didn’t know how hard it was. Oh, and I chose to do the more difficult loop in Central Park. The one with all the hills… I’m telling you, one of the “hills” should totally be called Death Mountain. But, I didn’t stop and kept trucking along until the end. My time was 1:11, meaning I had a pace of 8:52.

I was a sweaty mess… I must buy dry-fit tops. Anyone have any recommendations??? Right now I really just have cold weather running clothes or cotton t-shirts I’ve gotten from the races I’ve run. Cotton is NOT good in hot weather.

After my run I was getting all my stuff together and saw myself in a mirror… Not a pretty sight. My face was as red as a tomato. I looked like I was dying. But I really didn’t feel too tired… My tomato face didn’t subside until about 20 minutes after my run. I bet people in the subway were wondering if I had a sunburn. Nope, I just ran up Death Mountain, don’t worry about it!

All in all it was a great run with great people watching. I’m really proud and after yesterday I know the half will be no problem. The course is flat so I figure if I can run Death Mountain I can conquer the Long Branch Half-Marathon 🙂

PS – To celebrate my running success I ate tons and tons of sushi and went to bed early. It was a great night…

2 Comments

Filed under Central Park, Death Mountain, Happy, Races, Sun!, Sushi, Training

2 responses to “Tomato Face

  1. ew sick… yesterday i ran in a cotton tee shirt. it is seriously so nasty.

    good job on your EIGHT miles!!!

  2. Donna

    I finally got a post!!! good job!!!

Leave a Reply

