Long Branch Half-Marathon

I loved this race. So far it might be my all time favorite. The weather was perfect and the spectators were great! The race started and ended on the boardwalk overlooking the ocean which I loved. The race route went through a bunch of the neighborhoods in Long Branch which was cool. The houses were beautiful and all the people who lived there were out cheering for us. People had cut up orange slices for us, sprinklers to run through, water and one guy was even passing out beer!

My left glute muscle never hurt once and I just kept at a pretty even pace all throughout the race. I beat my 13.1 New York Half time which was my goal for this race! My time was 1:49:38, which makes my pace 8:22!!! I was also 34th in my age group! Cool! Sometimes I still can’t believe that I can run for that long or that fast! Me! The girl who used to hate running ONE mile…

Ryan was a great photographer and supporter! He even found me at the last stretch to the finish! He yelled out my name and raced me to the finish! It was such a surprise and gave me a big burst of energy 🙂

Today I’m super tired. I slept a lot yesterday but my body might be a little mad at me… Hopefully by tomorrow I’ll be good as new!

Below are some photos from the race! Enjoy!

Sunday morning, making sure I have all my race stuff. Two vitamin waters, two Clif bars, Garmin watch, Running belt, Sunglasses, compression socks for after the race, race registration and packet pick up information.

It was such a beautiful day! I’m ready to run!!!

Total dork picture…

Here we go!!!

Almost done! You can tell I’m a little tired… I did grab a Vita Coco which was tasty 🙂

I’m hoping the race photographers got a photo or two of me… Hopefully I’ll be able to post them soon!

Anyone love Kara Goucher??? I do! Click here!!

4 Comments

Filed under BF, Compression Socks, Happy, Life, Pace, Race photo, Races, Sleepy, Sun!, Travel, Weekend

4 responses to “Long Branch Half-Marathon

  1. CONGRATULATIONS! this was an awesome race. your pace was amazing! congrats again, girl!

  2. Marci

    There was an article in yesterday’s paper about the Long Branch race. I will save it for you.

Leave a Reply

