It’s Really Starting…

Today is my first day of my real marathon training. I looked at a couple of training programs and then kind of made up my own. So it’s Catie’s Marathon Training Guide for Catie. Tonight I ran 3.5 miles in Central Park with some friends from work. I will post the entire schedule, I promise. I can tell you that I’ll be running Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday. Saturday will be my long run days.

It’s starting to get really hot here which makes running way more difficult. I miss the colder days – only when I run though… If I’m laying by the pool and its 85 degrees then that’s great! Running in that heat… not so great…

I hope you all had a lovely Memorial Day Weekend. My weekend was full of fun! And laying by the pool (Thanks for being the best host ever Jackie)!!! I even got to see my running buddy Kristen from Nashville!

Notice my shorter hair!!! What’d you think!??

3 Comments

Filed under Busy, Central Park, Friends, Girls Weekend, haircut, Happy, Life, Portland Marathon, Sun!, Training, Weekend

3 responses to “It’s Really Starting…

  1. Cathy Goddard

    Your hair looks beautiful – a very sophisticated yet casual look – just perfect for you! You better bump up that training schedule – check with some trainers – I’ll check with my current boss – he’s done a few marathons – I believe you are to run 5 to 6 days per week – one day off. Long runs – one day only per week. Something like: To start: Mon, Tues, Weds, Thurs =
    3, 6, 3, 6 – Fri off; Sat = 3; Sunday is your long run = 12; after 3 weeks or so bump up to 4, 8, 4, 8, off, 4, Sunday 14 etc. The farthest your long run should ever be is 20 – that should be in the month of September a couple of times. Check it out – I’ll ask Brian (my boss). He’s 46 – has been running for about 2.5 yrs, just ran another marathon in May in Eugene, averaged 7.25 min miles for his first 20 miles; then hit the wall. Kept going tho. He has qualified for the Boston marathon twice. He’ s very cool. Keep up the great work!! I’m sorry it’s so hot. Does your gym in Yonkers have A/C or fans? That might be a better alternative than 90 degrees w/humidity some days!
    Love you!

  2. Dad

    Your Dad likes your haircut, Catie. Where was the picture taken and which young woman is which? Kristen in the middle? Sorry about your heat; send some to Oregon! Hurry!

    Love, DAD

Leave a Reply

