10K Mini Re-Cap

Saturday morning I had the pleasure of waking up at 5am…

I caught the 6am train into the city which gave me enough time to get to my office, change, warm up and get to the starting line with 20 minutes to spare.

I wore my running “mini” skirt just for this race!

(source)

For some reason I was in the FIRST CORRAL… Meaning I was with super fast runners. I was a little intimidated. The world-class runners were right in front of us! So cool!

(source)
I loved the course! It started in Columbus Circle and we ran along side Central Park for a mile until cutting in to the park for the remainder of the race. There were some hilly parts, but I have been training in Central Park so there weren’t any surprises.

The best part of the race was running along side Mary Wittenberg, NYRR President and Jack Waitz, Grete Waitz’s husband who was running in her honor. This year was the 40th Anniversary of the race and the race was also honoring Grete Waitz who recently died of cancer and who had won the race five times.

I loved this race and will definitely run it again next year. The whole morning was about empowering women and all the running accomplishments that women have had throughout the decades. Loved it!

Oh, and you’re probably wondering if I achieved my goal???

YES I DID!!! I ran the 10K Mini in 48:46!!! 7:50 pace!!

1 Comment

Filed under 5am, Central Park, Grete Waitz, New York Road Runners, Pace, Races, Weekend, world class runners

One response to “10K Mini Re-Cap

Leave a Reply

