Trail Running From Hell

The humidity has come back. With vengeance. Yesterday I had a six-mile run planned with some co-workers. My boss used to be an elite runner so he said he would take me and another girl we work with out for a run. Cool, great.

before running

We’ll do the six-mile loop around Central Park I like. NOPE. Wrong. He took us on these running trails all throughout the park. LET ME TELL YOU. It was one of the most difficult runs I’ve done in a very long time.

after… not happy at all

Afterwards I felt like I had run a half marathon. It was the most miserable thing ever. The humidity plus the trails made for not a fun time. My legs actually woke me up in the middle of the night hurting. Oh, and my cat chose last night to run around like a crazy person… I love getting four hours of sleep.

I’ve decided not to run today (thanks to yesterday) and run Thursday and Friday and push my long run to Sunday.

I am happy that I can say I survived the six-mile trail run from hell but I won’t be doing that again for a long time.

Resolution Update: I’ve been cooking more and trying new recipes. Cooking rather than ordering out food or grabbing sushi every other day is waaayy cheaper!

Look Mom, I’m cooking!!! And no, Ryan I didn’t burn anything…

Leave a comment

Filed under Central Park, Cooking, exhausted, Humidity, Sleepy, Tired Legs, Trail Running, Training

Leave a Reply

