18 in Central Park

Saturday I ran 18 miles. It was really hard. I would say the last four miles were the most difficult. I just wanted to be done and I was getting pretty hungry. The GU Chomps really gave me the energy boosts I needed all throughout my run.

It took me 2 hours and 57 minutes to run 18 miles. With that training run under my belt I’m thinking I’ll finish the marathon in 4 hours and 30 minutes. Give or take. I’ll be really happy with that. 

I ran the miles in Central Park. I started a little late, 9:30am, and by the time I was done it was pretty hot outside. I did get some much-needed sun so I don’t look as see-through anymore.

After finishing I walked/hobbled back to my apartment. People on the street were looking at me like I had two heads… Yes, I’m sweaty. I just ran 18 miles okay!? For next time I might make a tee-shirt that says, “I just ran __ Miles so stop looking at me.” I can put velcro in the blank spot and just stick the amount of miles I ran on the shirt… What do you think of that idea?? Maybe that’ll make people stop looking at me like I’m crazy. Or am I crazy for running 18 miles???

Once I got home I took a cold water bath – I don’t have enough ice for an ice bath, but really cold water works for me.

After freezing my legs in the cold, cold water and taking a much-needed shower and nap. 

I decided I had to celebrate this 18 mile achievement so I took myself out for a walk (a very slow walk) and bought a beautiful, much deserved cupcake.

And then I slept for about ten hours and woke up to lots and lots of rain Sunday morning. I did go to yoga Sunday morning – great cross training. It felt great to stretch and do some other type of exercise besides run. I’m definitely going to go back.

I did other errand stuff on Sunday, but that’ll just bore you. 

2 Comments

Filed under Central Park, Cross-Training, Cupcakes, Life, Portland Marathon, Ramblings and Thoughts, Sun!, Training, Weekend, Yoga

2 responses to “18 in Central Park

  1. Cathy Goddard

    Awesome job!! You are my hero!! Keep up the good work – I know you’re going to do a great job at the Marathon in October. I can’t wait to see you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

