Marathon Tips for First-Timers

This morning our office received the magazine Northwest Runner. I always flip through it because it reminds me of home. In this month’s issue there is an article for first time marathoners! Perfect for me! With a little over a month left in training I need all the help and information I can get.

Below are some of the strategies they talked about in order to have a successful first marathon race:

1. HYDRATE – The article was adamant about this. Drink water all the time! Not just during and after your runs. Everyday! I’ve been really good at doing this. I goal myself four to six 16 ounce water bottles a day.

2. DEVELOP A FUELING PLAN – Check! I love me some GU Chomps! My last long run my energy did dip at the end and I think the cause of this was not eating enough of the Chomps throughout my run. 

3. PLAN A PRE-EVENT BREAKFAST – Honestly, I haven’t really thought about this very much… Not good. The past two long runs I’ve eaten oatmeal beforehand and I didn’t feel sick and it gave me enough energy. So I guess I’ll keep that up.

4. FOCUS OF INJURY PREVENTION – The article stressed that with higher mileage comes a higher chance of injury. This is the last thing I want to happen. The article said that if you need an extra rest day take it. One more day off is a lot better than missing the marathon you have been training for! Hurricane Irene helped me with many days off 🙂

5. FUEL FOR RECOVERY – Though I do eat through my days now that I’m running all the time, I know I can do better with my choices of what I eat. Pasta every night for dinner isn’t going to cut it. I need to add more fruits and vegetables!

6. RESEARCH RACE DAY – I guess I need to do this? I lived in Oregon and have driven on all the roads we’re running on so I’m not too worried about this. The article does say to find out what energy gels and drinks the race will have but I think I’m just going to bring my own to be safe.

I hope this helped you all! I know is really helped me and got me even more excited about the Portland Marathon!

PS – Went to spin class this morning! Love it! Love it! Love it! Four mile run tonight!

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Helpful Information, Hurricane, Long run, Motivation, Portland Marathon, recovery session, Spin Class, Training

2 responses to “Marathon Tips for First-Timers

  1. Ryan

    So thats how you do it………….maybe i should start training

Leave a Reply

