Bowling, Race, Relaxation

It was a busy, busy weekend!

Friday night we headed to Lucky Strike for some bowling.

We had so much fun and I really want to go back there again! How cool is that lamp?!

Everything about the place was cool. Atmosphere, music… I ordered an appetizer and it was really good, so I assume the dinner menu is good too.

We went with our friends from college, Amanda and Marc. I’m pretty sure they had a great time too. 

Saturday Ryan and I just relaxed and played with Bailey. We went out to dinner at an Italian place by his apartment which was excellent. I really wanted good pasta before my 18 mile race and this place did just that. I was too busy eating to take any pictures…

Sunday morning came very fast and I was up at 5am. Eating toast and ready to go. For this race I tried out my Portland Marathon outfit – with rain gear if needed.

I look pretty dorky in this picture… I also used gels/GU in this race and I must say. They worked a lot better! The race went really well. I tried to keep my pace around 9:30 in the beginning and gradually sped up. I stopped at almost all the water stations and had three gels. The race was three of the 6 mile loops. That means I ran the Harlem Hill, or what I call DEATH MOUNTAIN three times!!! Three times!!!

My overall time was 2:44:02 – pace of 9:07!! I’m very happy with that!

This morning I hit the gym for my recovery session – 35 minutes on the elliptical and lots of stretching. My legs are feeling pretty good compared to the other long runs I’ve done in the past.

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under 5am, BF, Busy, Death Mountain, Friends, Happy, Life, Long run, Pace, Portland Marathon, Puppy, Races, Rain, recovery session, Relaxing, Tired Legs, Training, Weekend

One response to “Bowling, Race, Relaxation

  1. Bowling is one of our favorite activities with friends! We bowled once a week for several months during college. Glad you had a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

