You know what’s exciting???

Planning your next training program!!! Yesterday I sat down, found a half-marathon intermediate training program and figured out when I really need to start getting my butt in gear again.

Writing out my training plan made me all the more excited for Red Rock. The plan I found not only emphasizes mileage but also strength training. Something I have not been doing at all. I found a class at my gym called Total Body Conditioning. This class uses weights and bodybars that “promotes muscular endurance, flexibility and body alignment.” Starting December I’ll be taking that class twice a week.

I’m such a planner and now that I have a PLAN, I want to run and want to see my efforts pay off.

In other news:

The Christmas tree in Rockefeller Center is being set up as we speak!!!!

4 Comments

Filed under Red Rock Half-Marathon, Total Body Conditioning, Training

4 responses to “You know what’s exciting???

  1. Jen

    What is the training plan you are using, if its available online? I don’t have a 1/2 until May but I love the idea of following a plan even if its too soon haha

    I ran by the tree this morning and saw it’s opening tomorrow! Running down 5th avenue this morning was so bizarre because the holiday decorations, yet i was wearing shorts and a t-shirt and sweating in November? haha this weather is crazy!

    • This weather is SO crazy! I didn’t even wear a coat on my walk to work today! I’m using Hal Higdon’s Intermediate Half Marathon training program. It’s simple and straight forward 🙂
      Which half are you doing in May???

      • Jen

        Thanks, I’m going to google it now! I’m doing a half in the town I’m from upstate called Binghamton. It will be my first half unless one comes up before that, and I thought having my first in my hometown would be awesome! 🙂

  2. I’m really jealous about your view of the tree being set up. My birthday is right before Christmas and my dream birthday plans are to fly to NYC, skate at Rockefeller Center, see the Radio City Rockettes, and go back home!

Leave a Reply

