Hi. I’m back.

Hi. I’m back.

I’m still waiting on the final results from the race…

The race was really difficult and I hadn’t taken into account the difference in elevation. Here in New York we’re at sea level. The race… not at sea level. We were running between 3,000 – 4,800 feet. Meaning the air was a lot thinner making it harder to breathe. The hills were pretty steep but the not being able to take a deep breath really affected my pace. 

This trip was so much fun and I’m so happy I was able to spend the time with my parents and friends. I already want to go back to Nevada. The desert is just so beautiful.

I did bring one thing back with me that I’m NOT happy about. Piriformis Syndrome. It’s caused by running hills and sitting for long periods of time. So that’d be running the Red Rock half-marathon and then taking a five hour flight back to New York the next day and not getting up once… I can hardly walk… I’m doing the stretches now as I type this and it’s pretty painful. It’s my fault though – I hardly stretched after the race. I’m hoping I’ll be better by this weekend.

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Friends, Las Vegas, Piriformis Syndrome, Races, Red Rock Half-Marathon

2 responses to “Hi. I’m back.

  1. Yes, elevation can be tough. I train at 7,200 feet, but when I can drive an hour south and 2,000 feet lower in elevation it feels just so much better! Sorry about your injury. Good job with the race!

  2. cisforcourtney

    sorry to hear it was a tough race. /: i bet it was beautiful though. usually the trick is to racing at altitude… try and get there as late as possible, the less time you spend there before (coming from sea level) the better. your body doesn’t have a chance to notice the difference, it usually takes about 2-4 days.

    same thing goes for training at altitude. i train at 5280 & when i go to sea level it is AWESOME, but if i am there 4 days before hand… don’t really notice it toooo much.

Leave a Reply

