Keeping Pace

Tuesday night after work I headed to Jack Rabbit Sports to get my New York Flyers singlet. They had two different brands – Nike and Brooks – I went with Brooks and I can’t wait to wear it in my first race as a New York Flyer!

During the day on Tuesday one of the New York Flyers reached out to me to join their group speed session that night. I had gone to spin class that morning (tired legs) but really wanted to get to know my new “team” so decided to go.

Well, it was a WORK-OUT. Let me tell you. That night they were working on learning your pace without the use of a watch. Just knowing your body and trying to keep the same pace throughout your run/race. Our goal for the night was to run four miles at race pace and keep the same pace the whole time. It was very hard but awesome. I basically ran a race on Tuesday night! I ran the first two miles in 14:42 and finished the four miles in 29:52. Pace: 7:28. I’m pretty sure that was the fastest four miles I’ve ever run.

I loved the speed session and I can’t wait run more with the Flyers! I know this will only help me become a better runner and I’ll meet other people who like running as much as me!

1 Comment

Filed under New York Flyers, Pace

One response to “Keeping Pace

Leave a Reply

