Team Championships

What a fun/miserable morning!
The camaraderie of the different teams competing was great! The weather. Was NOT. It was really hot and humid. The men ran at 8am and then the women’s race began at 9am. Meaning it was hotter for us. About 86 degrees…


I watched the men’s race and was at the finish line cheering. Because of the weather conditions many of the guys did not look good at the finish line and it scared me a little. I did not want to end up in the medical tent. I decided then and there that I would run a smart race – not necessarily the fastest race.

The race began right on time and I stayed around a 7:30 pace. The whole race I stayed around that pace and felt pretty comfortable. I hardly looked at my Gamin watch – I just went with what was comfortable and how I felt. If I felt like I could push it – I did. If not I held back. I definitely used the downhill sections to my advantage, though. That’s for sure. The last mile was tough since we were completely in the sun. My official time was 37:10 – a 7:26 pace.


I’m REALLY happy with my time. I was the fourth of the women flyers across the finish line and 45th in my age group.


After the races the Flyers had a fun bagel picnic. Everyone was super nice and the bagels weren’t bad either 😉

2 Comments

Filed under Bagels, New York Flyers, Race Re-cap, Races

2 responses to “Team Championships

  1. Congrats- what a fantastic finish!!! You’ll have to teach everyone how to take such great race pics, I’m impressed!

Leave a Reply

