The Big One Before the BIG ONE

Yesterday was my last long run before the marathon! 20 miles!
For me, once I run my 20 mile long run I feel ready.


Sunday morning I woke up around 7:45am took my time, ate breakfast, read Elle magazine enjoyed some coffee and was ready to hit the road at 9am. 


Then I waited around for ten minutes… This is one of the major running downfalls of living  in New York. Your Garmin can never find a satellite! All those tall buildings…The only place my watch finds the satellites fast is  when I’m in Central Park.


There was a breast cancer walk in Central Park Sunday morning so I couldn’t run there. I decided to run by the East River (I think that’s what it’s called). I ran on 1st ave to 34th street and then turned left onto the walkway thing. Then ran all the way to Battery Park – basically to the West Side. Hit the ten mile mark and turned around.

It was a perfect day! No clouds at all. I thought I might even get a sunburn… Didn’t happen – I’m still super pale.


The last three miles were really difficult. I had a water bottle of Gatorade and water that got me through the first ten miles, then at mile 11/12 I took my first and only gel. I definitely needed one more around mile 16. Good to know! I’ll be ready for the marathon 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Long run, New York City Marathon, Weekend

2 responses to “The Big One Before the BIG ONE

  1. So glad your last long run went well! I do short runs along the east river all the time. You can run north and go over the footbridge to Randall’s island which is cool. less than 2 weeks!!!!!!

  2. Crissy

    Catie, you are just too cool. That’s all I have to say 🙂

Leave a Reply

