Saturday Full of Running

Saturday morning I was up bright and early to meet some friends of mine for a nice ten miler in Central Park. When we planned this I didn’t think it was going to be super cold. It was 20 degrees… I would have never gone by myself. I’ve come to realize that making running dates is the best way for me to get my long runs in this training cycle. When other people are counting on me there’s no way I won’t show up.

397494_630041295478_95910036_n
Of course after finishing it was coffee and bagel time. AND THEN NAP TIME. I had the best two hour nap. Naps after a long run are probably the best thing ever.

Once I woke up I had to start getting ready for the New York Flyers Awards Dinner. It was a formal dinner and I might have been a little under dressed… People went all out! I now know for next time.

BCI_0045

Ryan and I weren’t planning on attending but a couple of weeks ago I received an e-mail saying I was up for an award… And guess what!?

BCI_0219
I was one of the winners of the Rookie of the Year Award! 

It was a really fun dinner and it was good to see some of my running friends that I hadn’t seen in a while.

AST_2034

Ryan on the other hand… I think he got his fill of running talk for the year. At least the Super Bowl was the next day 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under BF, Friends, Life, New York Flyers, Running Dates, Training, Weekend

3 responses to “Saturday Full of Running

  1. pickyrunner

    Oh my gosh congratulations!!!!! That is so cool! I don’t really know what the award is for but I’m excited about anything that has to do with running 🙂 I would love to do a 10 miler in central park. Preferably in the spring/summertime but that just seems like a lot of fun!

  2. Congrats!! That’s so awesome! I’m loving CO, but totally miss running in Central park.

  3. I agree with you. I’m less likely to bail on a run when I know someone is counting on me. Also, you look great! I wouldn’t say you were under dressed at all!

Leave a Reply

