Can You Freeze Soup?

Valentine’s Day with Ryan was so much fun. Super relaxed. Silver Linings Playbook was really good and I think everyone should see it such for the dance at the end. I laughed so hard! Then we enjoyed the chocolate dipped strawberries I had made the night before. I added peanut butter chips to some of them. I highly recommend doing it – super good.

photo
Then it was the long weekend! Saturday I got my 16 miler in and it was the best long run! I ran 10 miles with a fellow NY Flyer and the other 6 by myself. I averaged an 8:40 pace. I have no idea where that came from, but I felt great the whole time. photo-1I’m feeling more and more confident about Eugene now that I got a solid long run in. 

Monday I added two new recipes to my recipe list. I’m getting closer and closer to my goal of cooking/baking 26 recipes this year.

The first recipe I made was White Bean Soup with Red Chard. There was A LOT of chopping involved – finely chopping two onions is not fun… 

photo

But – I did it! I made my first ever homemade soup!!!

photo-2

I then moved on to baking. This bad boy doesn’t look so pretty but it tastes really good! I made pear upside down cake. The hardest part was flipping the darn thing over on the cutting board.

photo-3
Now I have a ton of soup and lots of cake… and there’s one of me. So yeah… I’ll be eating soup and cake for the rest of the week. Can you freeze soup?

NYCRuns Half-Marathon this Sunday in Central Park! I can’t wait to kick butt on another training run!

6 Comments

Filed under Baking, Cooking, Eugene Marathon, Long run, Races, Training, Valentine's Day, Weekend

6 responses to “Can You Freeze Soup?

  1. You can definitely freeze soup. That soup sounds so warm and delicious- if i still lived in your neighborhood I would totally stop by and steal a bowl 🙂

  2. pickyrunner

    Ooooh chocolate covered strawberries totally caught my eye. I haven’t had those in forever!

  3. Cathy Goddard

    Yes, you can freeze soup. I would put it Zip-lock Freezer bags. I’m assuming its cold in the refrigerator, right? (Don’t put hot soup in plastic bags.) Be sure to squeeze all of the air out of the bag before you seal it. You can stack them up in the freezer – works really well. Works well with all soups, stews, spaghetti sauce, chili – you name it. Great job on your runs!!!
    Good luck this weekend!! 🙂

  4. Cathy Goddard

    The cake looks delicious – I love cake with pears!! When you take any kind of cake out of the pan it was baked in: let it cool in the pan for whatever amount of time the recipe says; then put a plate or tray or cookie sheet over the open cake pan, flip it over, take the cake pan off. If the want the “bottom” of the cake side up, you’re done. If you want the “top” side of the cake on top, take another plate/tray; put it on the exposed “top” and flip it over again. That way you don’t need to use spatulas and risk breaking the cake. Does that description make sense? I can show you in April when you’re home if it doesn’t.
    🙂

  5. That soup looks great – post recipes!

  6. Tim

    Freeze away! I’ve frozen beef stew and always loved having some in the freezer on stand-by

Leave a Reply

