First Race of 2013

This weekend was my first race of 2013.
My first half marathon of the four I plan to run this year.

I didn’t know what to expect and went into the race being calm and excited to see how I would do. Going in to a race with no pressure is a lot more fun than when you have a specific goal time.
The weather was a little cold (37 degrees) but after a couple of miles I warmed up and felt great.
photo-1
The race was pretty hilly – we ran Harlem Hill once, Cat Hill twice and the “three sisters” on the west side twice. If you can race in Central Park you can do any race.
I felt great through the entire race and just tried to keep pushing through until the end. The last mile and a half was pretty difficult but that’s because I really wanted to beat my Staten Island half marathon time. And I did!!! By 1 minute and 54 seconds! I couldn’t believe. I was and still am so happy about that!

photo-2

They gave all of us medals and hats and had tons of food at the finish line. Bagels with cream cheese, strawberries, apples, even hot chocolate. All I wanted was Gatorade and a bagel though. NYC RUNS puts on a great race.

photo-3
I tried out my arm warmers for the first time during the race and I loved them. They kept me warm but I never felt overheated. Best $3 I’ve ever spent.photo
I never knew I had such pointy elbows…

7 Comments

Filed under Central Park half-marathon, Race Re-cap, Weekend

7 responses to “First Race of 2013

  1. pickyrunner

    Ahhhhh congrats on the half!!! That’s a pretty big PR and you should be so proud! That’s my current best time and I’m really shooting to shave a couple minutes off this year. Great start for the first of many races 🙂

  2. Congrats girlie!!!! Awesome PR! 🙂

  3. awesome job!! I wish i could have been there to run it, but I definitely don’t miss running harlem hill. haha. cool medal too! how in the world did you get arm warmers for $3?!?!

  4. Crissy

    Congratulations, Catie! You rock!

Leave a Reply

