Eugene Marathon

All I can say is that I love the Eugene Marathon. I had so much fun! The course was great, so pretty and for the most part – flat.

photo

The expo wasn’t too big and we were able get through it pretty quick. I also put this awesome magnet for the fridge. I’m pretty sure Ryan is going to love it…

image-1

The morning of the race went really well. I had set my race outfit the night before so there was no stress.

imageI had my coffee, bagel, water and was ready to go at 6am.

photo-1I met up with my friend Chloe and we rode the shuttle bus together.Ā 
My only complaint was the bathrooms at the start. It was pure chaos… Thankfully Chloe found a short line and we made it with 5 minutes before the start of the race! (great job Chloe!)

image-3
I finished the race in 3:40:59. I still can’t believe my average pace was 8:26 per mile. That is crazy to me! How’d I do that?! I had great support and was so happy to see family and friends along to course. The coolest thing to me is that I felt great after the race. I didn’t feel the need to take a nap – totally different from how I felt after the Portland Marathon.

image-2
After the race my parents and I went to the University of Oregon Museum and then an early dinner at the Excelsior Inn.Ā 

image-4

And on Monday I received a surprise treat from Ryan!!! Edible Arrangements is really good.

image-5

Now on to – moving, the Brooklyn half-marathon, a wedding (yay Elena!) and then a trip to Costa Rica. So busy … all the time!

12 Comments

Filed under Eugene Marathon, Family, Friends, Oregon, Weekend

12 responses to “Eugene Marathon

  1. YAY!!! You were so worried about how this one was going to go and I knew you were going to crush it! Awesome job!! I also love the sticker!

  2. pickyrunner

    Oh my gosh congratulations!!! You did amazing and I know there are good things coming for you with your upcoming races šŸ™‚

  3. Great job Catie! I think I need to get a running watch if I’m going to do more half marathons (not knowing what my pace was the whole time was really annoying). Do you have suggestions on one if you use one? I was thinking of getting the Garmin Forerunner 10 because it’s simple and doesn’t cost too much but thought I’d get some input.

    • You’ll love having a Garmin! That’s what I have and it’s great! I hope you run the Portland half!! The Wine Country one in September is suppose to be awesome too! I really want to do that one.

      • Great! I’ll ask Scott to get it for me for my birthday šŸ™‚ I’ve always wanted to do the wine country one but it’s always labor day weekend which we usually spend camping and boating with my family/cousins – maybe I’ll have to skip camping one year and do it, it’d be fun

  4. Way to go!!! What a great pace!! I’m glad you had a wonderful experience as well. šŸ™‚

  5. Elena Gutierrez

    You are truly amazing, congratulations!! Thanks for the shout-out for the wedding…so exciting, we cannot wait to celebrate with you and Ryan and all of my lovely ladies…love you xoxo

  6. Hey Catie! I just found your blog through C is for Courtney, but so funny because I think I saw you running a couple of times on the course!

    AND I went to that Run for Boston in your last post, and I’m running Brooklyn Half! I’m surprised I haven’t met you before!?! But we should definitely meet up in the city!!!

    Congrats on 3:40!!!

Leave a Reply

