Queens 10K

Sunday morning I ran the Queens 10K and added some extra miles to complete a 9 mile training run. The heat wave is finally “over” but it was still 80 degrees and humid. I felt very out of shape during the race. This was a great learning experience for me… I SHOULD BE TRAINING MORE!!! After the Eugene Marathon I basically took off from running. I’m now regretting that idea. Taking three months off makes starting up training a lot more difficult. Lesson learned!
Last year at this time I ran a 10K in 46 minutes. That’s a 7:26 pace. This year… I finished in 51:21 minutes, a 8:17 pace. Yikes.

 

Here’s my schedule for this week (busy!):

Monday: Pure Barre
Tuesday: 3 miles + Pure Barre
Wednesday: 5 miles
Thursday: 3 miles + Andrew Belle Concert!!!
Friday: rest
Saturday or Sunday: 12 mile long run! and a beach trip!

2 Comments

Filed under Queens 10K, Training

2 responses to “Queens 10K

  1. Humidity sucks and I definitely don’t miss it! How excited are you that NYC training has started again? This year passed quicker than I thought it would!

    • I can’t believe we’re starting up again! I’m still trying to get into the groove of it! I can’t wait for you to be back in New York for the marathon!

Leave a Reply

