Rum Run Re-Cap

10K (and a little bit) Rum Run Re-Cap!

This was a fun race. Fun because my family and friends were there to cheer me on and two of my friends ran the race!

The actual running of on the race was hard. Really hard. At one point I stopped and walked… I think lack of sleep, traveling and going out Friday night to celebrate my friend Tracy’s birthday were all against me. I also didn’t look at the course map and there were some monster hills in this race!

Right after finishing the race.. not a happy camper

Surprisingly I got first in my age group!!!! I could not believe it! My time was 48 minutes flat with a pace of 7:29 for 6.4 miles. My friend Tom ran with me most of the way and I know he pushed me to run faster so – Thanks Tom!!! I’m still in disbelief! I got a medal and everything! 

I had a great time at home in Oregon and I can’t wait to be back there in three short months! I know the time will fly by with my marathon training starting up in July, speed sessions with the New York Flyers and a couple of races thrown in there too!

Tonight I’m going on the NYRR Mini fun run which coincides with the 10K Mini on June 9th. We’ll be running an easy three miles in the park. I think some famous women runners will be there too!

Next race: NYRR 10K Mini – June 9th! My first official race as a New York Flyer! 

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Friends, New York Flyers, Oregon, Race Re-cap, Races, Travel, Vacation

Leave a comment